Which of the following is a reason to file an accident report on a boat?
A formal written accident report is required to be filed when the following situations occur: Life is lost due to the accident . Someone is injured and requires medical treatment beyond first aid. There is a complete loss of the vessel or damage to the vessel and property exceeding $2000.
What amount of property damage is required to report a boating accident under Florida?
Vessel operators involved in an accident must report the accident by the quickest means possible if the accident caused: A death or disappearance of a person or An injury causing a person to require medical attention beyond first aid or Damage to the vessel and other property of $2,000 or more.
What must you have on a boat in Florida?
Minimum Florida Boat Safety Equipment Requirements One Coast Guard-approved Type I, II or III Personal Flotation Device (PFD) for each person on board or being towed on water skis etc. Fire extinguisher(s) of the appropriate size and type for your boat . Visual Distress Signals (on high sea, and coastal waters)
When would a boating accident report be required quizlet?
. If the accident results in damage to the vessel or other property exceeding $2,000, or if there is a complete loss of the vessel, a written boating accident report must be submitted within 10 days.
What types of boating accidents must be reported?
Reporting a boating accident A person dies, A person is injured and requires medical treatment beyond first-aid, A person disappears from the boat under circumstances that indicate death or injury, or. Damage to the boat and other property totals more than $2,000, or there is a complete loss of the vessel.
When must a boating accident report form be completed and sent to Colorado Parks and Wildlife?
Reports of death, disappearance, or injury indicating the possibility of death, must be submitted within 5 days — all others must be reported within 10 days. Reports for accidents on all rivers except the Arkansas must be submitted to Colorado Parks & Wildlife , 13787 S.
How many points of contact should be maintained with the boat at all times?
What is indicated by a white marker with an orange crossed diamond?
Boats Keep Out: A white buoy or sign with an orange diamond and cross means that boats must keep out of the area. Black lettering on the buoy or sign gives the reason for the restriction, for example, SWIM AREA. Danger: A white buoy or sign with an orange diamond warns boaters of danger – rocks, dams, rapids, etc.
What should you do at a minimum before leaving for a daytime outing on the water?
For shorter daytime outings on the water , at a minimum you should : Contact a responsible person before you go out and tell him or her where you will be boating and when you plan to return. Give your contact the phone number for local authorities in case you fail to return when expected.
Can passengers drink on a boat in Florida?
It is against the law to operate a motor vehicle in Florida with an open container of alcohol . But if you travel by boat , or plan a party aboard your vessel , it is not illegal for the operator to be drinking an alcoholic beverage — it is, however, illegal to drive a boat while drunk .
Can I use my boat in Florida?
A person must be at least 14 years of age to operate a personal watercraft in Florida . Each person operating, riding on, or being towed behind a personal watercraft must wear an approved non-inflatable Type I, II, III, or V personal flotation device (PFD). Inflatable PFDs are prohibited for personal watercraft use .
Is it illegal to overpower a boat in Florida?
Ther is in fact a Florida statute that prohibits overpowering a boat ! The law states that it is illegal to power a boat with more power than listed on the capacity plate installed on the boat . Even if the boat is over 20 feet in length, the operator is responsible for not overpowering the vessel .
What is the leading cause of death in boating accidents in Florida quizlet?
The main cause of boating fatalities . is Falling Overboard And Drowning. An example of safe PWC operation is to Keep A Safe Distance From Other Vessels. Everyone Riding Or Being Towed By A PWC (Personal Water Craft) must wear a PFD (personal floatation device / life jacket) at all times while riding.
What is the cause of most fatal boating accidents quizlet?
according to u.s coast guard statistics, what is the main cause of most fatal boating accidents ? poor operator judgment and lack of awareness. You just studied 7 terms!
How quickly must you file a written report if you’re in a boating accident involving death or disappearance quizlet?
Reports must be submitted to DBW within 48 hours of an accident that involves : Death occurring within 24 hours of the accident . Disappearance of a person.