What should I do after a car accident in Michigan?
What should I do after a car accident in Michigan ? Following any car accident in Michigan , a crash victim should definitely contact the nearest police department, file a police report and seek any medical treatment if needed. After everything settles down, it’s important to obtain a copy of the police report.
Is Michigan a no fault state for auto accidents?
NO – FAULT INSURANCE is required by law in Michigan . If you have an auto accident , no – fault insurance pays for your medical expenses, wage loss benefits, replacement services, and the damage you do to other people’s property. It does not matter who caused the accident .
Can you sue a driver in Michigan for an accident?
A driver who is injured in a car accident in Michigan can bring a lawsuit to sue the at-fault driver for pain and suffering compensation – as an injured driver can do in all other states – but in Michigan the injured driver must first be able to show that he or she has suffered a “serious impairment of body function.”
Who pays the deductible in a car accident in Michigan?
A claimant pays the deductible . Broad Collision Coverage—An insurance company pays for the repairs, regardless of who was at fault. A claimant who is more than 50 percent at fault pays a deductible , but a claimant with less than 50 percent fault does not.
Do you need a police report to file an insurance claim in Michigan?
Michigan is a no-fault insurance state, which simply means that parties involved in a car accident are entitled to benefits from their own auto insurance companies no matter who caused the accident. However, you must still call the police when there is a serious accident, and an accident report will need to be made.
Can I sue the person who hit my parked car?
Yes you can sue the drunk driver for the damage to your vehicle . If the driver was insured, you might be able to negotiate a settlement with the drunk driver’s insurance company. However, depending on the item, they may increase the value of your vehicle .
Is Michigan getting rid of no fault insurance?
While the new law was passed in Spring 2019, most of the significant reform won’t go into effect until July 2020, and even more changes will happen in July 2021. So, the first cost reduction you see will be after July 2, 2020, and after you have selected new PIP and bodily injury limits.
Will basic no fault pay for damages to your car?
What is not covered by no – fault insurance/PIP coverage? No fault insurance does not cover bills or payments that are not related to personal injuries after a car accident. For example: No – fault insurance does not cover damage to your vehicle .
Why is Michigan insurance so expensive?
Michigan car insurance is expensive because of two factors: The state has no-fault laws, and also requires unlimited personal injury protection coverage . For those who have poor credit histories or driving records, getting car insurance in Michigan can be costly .
Can you sue for pain and suffering from a car accident?
Pain and suffering refers to the physical and mental damages you experience after a car accident or other personal injury accident . You can sue for pain and suffering if there is also a physical injury present.
Can you sue for pain and suffering in Michigan?
In Michigan , you have three years from the date of your car accident to file a negligence lawsuit against the at-fault driver to sue for pain and suffering damages. The at-fault driver must be 50% or more at-fault. To recover these damages, you must show you suffered a “serious impairment of body function.”
How long does an insurance company have to investigate a claim in Michigan?
Do you have to pay collision deductible if not at fault?
If you ‘ re not at-fault in an accident, then you should not have to pay your deductible . Typically, the at- fault driver’s insurance company will pay your deductible . Then, they’ll pay you the required amount of money for repairs, or they’ll pay the amount your car was worth at the time of the accident.
Do I have to pay deductible if I am not at fault?
When you ‘re not at fault for a collision, your insurance company typically covers damages to your vehicle under the Direct Compensation Property Damage (DCPD) section of your policy. If your insurance policy has a $0 deductible for Direct Compensation Property Damage claims, you won’t need to pay a deductible .
What is the new no fault law in Michigan?
Although the new no – fault law allows you to purchase different levels of medical coverage, or “Personal Injury Protection” (PIP), opting for less than full coverage can result in high out-of-pocket medical costs down the road if you are injured in a car crash.