What happens if you cause an accident while texting?
When a driver breaches their duty of care by texting and driving, they ‘re negligent. When the texting driver’s negligence results in a car accident , they are liable for the accident victims’ damages. Accident victims are entitled to compensation for damages directly resulting from the collision .
What causes texting while driving?
Talking and texting . People who use their cell phones to talk or text while driving are by far the most common reason for distracted driving accidents. In fact, the National Safety Council estimates that 26% of all car crashes involve cell phones.
Why is texting while driving dangerous?
Texting and driving is one of the most dangerous forms of distracted driving . In fact, the average text sent or read in a car takes a driver’s eyes off the road for 5 seconds. This is more than enough time to get in a life-altering accident.
Is texting while driving a misdemeanor?
In California , for instance, it’s no big deal. The base fine for texting while driving is $20 for the first offense and $50 for each subsequent offense. Get caught and you could be charged with a misdemeanor , punishable by up to a year in prison and a $50,000 fine.
What is the Maggie’s Law?
November 12, 2010. Maggie’s Law is a unique law that exists only in the state of New Jersey. It is a law that drivers must not knowingly operate a vehicle while impaired by lack of sleep.
What 3 states allow texting and driving?
States with Texting and Driving Laws Alabama. Alaska. Arkansas (except in emergencies) California . Colorado . Connecticut . Delaware . D.C.
What age group texts and drives the most?
Figure 3 shows that drivers under 24 are much more likely to text while driving (44% to 49%) than older drivers. In fact, after age 25, the inci- dence of texting while driving drops with every age group , from 26% in the 25- to 34-year-olds to less than 1% in those 65 and older.
Who is affected by texting and driving?
Crashes involving teen drivers distracted by cell phone use, including texting , tend to be proportionally higher than in any other age group. Compared to adults: teen drivers are 4 times more likely to get into car crashes or near-crashes when talking or texting and driving .
How many deaths are caused by texting and driving in 2020?
General Cell Phone Statistics The National Safety Council reports that cell phone use while driving leads to 1.6 million crashes each year. Nearly 390,000 injuries occur each year from accidents caused by texting while driving. 1 out of every 4 car accidents in the United States is caused by texting and driving.
What causes more accidents texting or drinking?
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), driving a vehicle while texting is six times more dangerous than intoxicated driving.
How many accidents are caused by texting?
Each year, over 330,000 accidents caused by texting while driving lead to severe injuries. This means that over 78% of all distracted drivers are distracted because they have been texting while driving. 1 out of 4 car accidents in the US are caused by texting while driving.
How can texting and driving kill?
In 2013, an estimated 341,000 vehicular crashes were directly or indirectly caused by text messaging. That’s fully six percent of all crashes for that year, and each and every one of them was entirely preventable. That number shouldn’t come as a surprise, of course.
Can you talk on Bluetooth while driving?
Talking on the phone while driving can be a big distraction and this is why it is illegal. However, car drivers have been using handsfree devices and Bluetooth infotainment systems in the cars to connect to the phones and talk without holding the phone in their hands.
Is it worth fighting a cell phone ticket?
While you may not consider this ” fighting ” the ticket (since you still have to pay a fine), you’ll save money and stress in the long run. You won’t have to worry about your insurance rates going up, or having points on your license.
What states don’t have texting and driving laws?
Of the two states without an all- driver texting ban, one prohibits text messaging by novice drivers . Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Offices. Alabama. Hand-Held Ban? Alaska. Hand-Held Ban? Arizona. Arkansas. California. Colorado. Connecticut. Delaware.